Bookmark and Share
Printer Friendly

All Jewish Women in Congress Sign on to NJDC’s Women’s Leadership Network

NJDC — February 19, 2013 – 12:01 pm | Democrats | Women's Issues Comments (0) Add a comment

The National Jewish Democratic Council’s (NJDC) newly-launched Women’s Leadership Network (WLN) proudly announced today that all Jewish Democratic women in the Senate and House of Representatives, as well as former Representative Gabrielle Giffords (D-AZ), have signed on as Honorary Co-Chairs of the new group.

“I am thrilled to be an honorary co-chair of the NJDC’s new Women’s Leadership Network—an opportunity for us to stand up as women, as Jews, and as Democrats for the priorities we share,” said Representative Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL). “From safeguarding our civil and reproductive freedoms, to strengthening our health and social safety net, to ending preventable gun violence, and bolstering support for the U.S.-Israel relationship, NJDC’s WLN will serve as a valuable resource and powerful voice on the issues that matter to our community.”

“NJDC’s Women’s Leadership Network will mobilize Jewish American women to support strong Democratic candidates and will ensure that all female Jewish Democrats have a voice at the table,” said Representative Jan Schakowsky (D-IL). “It is critical that NJDC’s Women’s Leadership Network raises the concerns of Jewish Democratic women and helps them influence the outcomes of national and international issues.”

“We are so honored that all of the Jewish women serving in the House and Senate, as well as former Representative Gabrielle Giffords, have signed on as Honorary Co-Chairs of the Women’s Leadership Network,” said Women’s Leadership Network Co-Founders Ann Lewis and Barbara Goldberg Goldman. “We look forward to working with our Honorary Co-Chairs as we fight to maintain and expand women’s rights and protect the future for our children, grandchildren, and future generations.”

WLN’s full line-up of Honorary Co-Chairs includes:

* Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA)

* Senator Diane Feinstein (D-CA)

* Representative Susan Davis (D-CA)

* Representative Lois Frankel (D-FL)

* Representative Nita Lowey (D-NY)

* Representative Jan Schakowsky (D-IL)

* Representative Allyson Schwartz (D-PA)

* Representative Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)

* Former Representative Gabrielle Giffords (D-AZ)

WLN’s Founding Members include:

* Former White House Communications Director Ann F. Lewis

* Barbara Goldberg Goldman

* Cynthia Friedman

* Sunita Leeds

* Marcia D. Sudolsky


There are no comments for this entry

Add a Comment
Note: This form does not support AOL's browser. If you are currently using AOL's browser, please use a major browser, such as Firefox, Safari, Chrome, or Internet Explorer.